Fashion and Professor Personality

I spent most of my time today in class because I’m a good student and don’t skip classes (yes that’s a joke, really I’m a perfectionist and I don’t have the guts to skip). The first thing on my docket was voice lessons. My instructor’s clothing style isn’t up to date and it’s gotten me thinking about the how much students try to keep up with the style. Back home, at my community college, fashion is easy, jeans, t-shirt, and boots. I know that’s because it’s a farming area and that’s what’s most comfortable for us. We still have those legging things with weird patterns, but they aren’t worn by a whole lot of us.

Also, I’ve noticed that down here, there are a lot of girls wearing a certain type of nose ring. The majority of nose rings I see are that type and good bit of girls wear them. I asked my roommate about them (she’s from about an hour away) and she said that they’re pretty popular in Knoxville.

I love the distinctions between the professors in different departments. The way they pray and the way they run their classes are different. My anthropology and theater professors are more on the quirky side. Their prayers are personal and fun-loving. Their classes are subject to change and they don’t stick to a strict schedule. They love to tell stories and will often get off topic to chase a rabbit that’s funny or just plain interesting.

My professors in religion, language, and music are polite but more reserved. They are more predictable. Their prayers are reverent and to the point. Their classes are also to the point. They don’t show a lot of personality or tell stories. Classes start on time and end on time. I don’t not nearly as comfortable around these professors, but I do learn quite a bit from them.

I wonder if certain personalities are drawn to specific types of studies or if it’s the study you choose that sort of shapes your personality.

Leave a Reply

